Pontardawe Arts Centre calling submissions to this year's Script Slam

Script Slam 2017 from Wales based writers.

Twelve scripts will be selected and performed in three heats during the autumn season in front of an audience and a panel of judges.  The judges (Elen Bowman and Derek Cobley) will give feedback on all the pieces and select one script to be taken on to the final.  In addition, the audience will select their favourite piece which will also be taken on to the final.


The Heats will take place on :

Tuesday 3 October

Tuesday 31 October

Tuesday 28 November

With the final taking place on Tuesday 30 January 2018


The scripts will be performed as script in hand performances under the direction of Dean Verbeck.

Following feedback from the heats writers of the selected pieces will be given the opportunity to revise their piece in readiness for the final (revised scripts to be submitted by 22 January 2018).

At the Grand Final, the judges will select a winning script and the writer given the opportunity to work with a dramaturge on the development of the script and then with the Arts Centre on a research and development week with director and actors to develop the piece towards production.

To enter:

Your script must be typed.  It should be an extract of no more than ten minutes from a longer piece of writing (we reserve the right to cut the piece down to the prerequisite length).  The extract must be capable of being staged with minimal props and with a maximum of 2 actors (although more characters could be involved in the final piece).  Please note that there is a maximum of one script per writer.

Please do not put your name anywhere on the script. But include a separate sheet with your name, your address, your email address and a contact telephone number.

Do not send your only copy, as we will not be able to return your script.

You must be based or be born in Wales.


The closing date for submission is Monday 21 August.  If you would like more information or would like to submit a piece please either email to a.dickinson@npt.gov.uk  or mail the script to Angie Dickinson

Pontardawe Arts Centre, Herbert Street, Pontardawe SA8 4ED


Previous winners

2013 Emily Hinshelwood – Buoy

2014 Shane Anderson – Hubert and Humble

2015 Dan Buck – Tosia Peters:  Servant to the Queen

2016 Christopher Land and Alex Gully – Slim Chance

2017 Michelle McTernan – Bruises


Views: 226

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of National Theatre Wales Community to add comments!

Join National Theatre Wales Community

Stay Up To Date

Enter your email address:

image block identification

© 2018   Created by National Theatre Wales.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service