Introduction, projects and more.....

Hi my name is Jade and I am currently an Assistant Project Manager, Facilitator and Youth Worker at YOCA. 

We have some very exciting projects coming up that I am so pleased to be apart of and want to share them with you all. 

Creative Fusion

Who are you?

Is there a voice that wants to be heard? 

Are you bored with nothing to do? 

I have some projects just for you.

The project that I am co-leading along with my very good friend Chantal Erraoui (an actress and Facilitator who also attended the YOCA Facilitator training programme) is an all female project called Creative Fusion. Creative Fusion came about when Chantal and I merged our ideas of bringing two groups of young people from different backgrounds and areas of Wales together to look at identity, appearance, cultural difference and social media through game playing and creative arts. The two groups we will be working with this time are a BAME background group from Cardiff in partnership with Cardiff Youth Service  and a group from Ammanford in partnership with Mess up the Mess. We want to break down the barriers that the media puts upon us on how we judge other cultures and individuals. We want to empower young women to have fun and to have the space to think and act freely without being judged. The project starts on Monday 3rd August 6pm to 8pm and will be running all week to Saturday the 8th August, where YOCA will be opening the doors to their new home the first time, and this project will have a slot for a small/relaxed performance of whatever the young women have created in the week. 

Here is a snippet what the project entails through poetry:

"Empowerment is a word not everyone feels, your confidence lingers in the depths of your despair,

You talk out loud but only whispers come out, whispers that is never heard.

Feeling vulnerable? Feeling shy? The loneliness is all that you can bare.

Your continually ticking boxes instead of being who you are."