Hello,

I'm Charlie Hammond. I was a NTW TEAM member from some time around 2011-2013/4. But as Catrin Rogers, Press and PR Manager for NTW, reminded me when we met as this year's Edinburgh Fringe festival: 'Once a NTW member, always a NTW member'. 

So here is a suitable self-indulgent but possibly interesting post about my journey from Cardiff 2013 to Edinburgh 2017, via the West Midlands, Paris, and Manchester.

This is 2013 me.

AND THIS IS 2017 ME

I wanted to keep this short and sweet but have failed miserably. So you have been warned.

Cardiff was first brought to my attention by my being there to study English Literature at Cardiff University. This I did for three years, from 2010-2013. During this time I became involved with various parts of the arts in Cardiff, including events run through NTW Team. 

Now my artistic life in Cardiff began largely through poetry. (I won the audience choice in 2013 - maybe- NTW poetry night). I wrote love poems because I studied english literature and I was young and that's what you do.

Look at me, smiling and reading. So embarrassing.

Having benefited from various aspects of the NTW scheme, including the 10-day residency at Anglesey, in the summer of 2013, I applied to go up with NTW alongside their production of Tim Price's The Radicalisation of Bradley Manning. Laura Thomas and myself were awarded the opportunity, and for 10 days we watched shows, blogged about our experience, and promoted NTW's show. Our accommodation was provided for as well as subsidies for 2 shows a day (but one had to have Welsh connections).