Event Details

Script Slam

Time: January 28, 2020 from 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Location: Pontardawe Arts Centre
Street: Herbert Street
City/Town: Pontardawe
Website or Map: https://npttheatres.co.uk/pon…
Phone: 01792 863722
Event Type: drama
Organized By: Lizzy Felton
Latest Activity: Dec 12, 2019

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

We are inviting submissions of new writing for Pontardawe Arts Centre’s

Script Slam 2019 from Wales based writers.


Twelve scripts will be selected and performed in three heats during the autumn season in front of an audience and a panel of judges. The judges (Derek Cobley, Chelsey Gillard and Dean Verbeck) will give feedback on all the pieces and select one script to be taken on to the final. In addition, the audience will select their favourite piece which will also be taken on to the final.


The Heats will take place on :

Tuesday 1 October

Tuesday 29 October

Tuesday 26 November

With the final taking place on Tuesday 28 January 2020


The scripts will be performed as script in hand performances under the direction of Dean Verbeck.


Following feedback from the heats writers of the selected pieces will be given the opportunity to revise their piece in readiness for the final (revised scripts to be submitted by 14 January 2020).


At the Grand Final, the judges will select a winning script and the writer given the opportunity to work with Louise Osborn as dramaturge on the development of the script and then with the Arts Centre on a research and development week with director and two actors to develop the piece towards production.


To enter:

Your script must be typed. It should be an extract of no more than ten minutes from a longer piece of writing (we reserve the right to cut the piece down to the prerequisite length). The extract must be capable of being staged with minimal props and with a maximum of 2 actors. Please note that there is a maximum of one script per writer.


Please do not put your name anywhere on the script. But include a separate sheet with your name, your address, your email address and a contact telephone number.

Do not send your only copy, as we will not be able to return your script.


The closing date for submission is Monday 9 September. If you would like more information or would like to submit a piece please either email to a.dickinson@npt.gov.uk or mail the script to Angie Dickinson

Pontardawe Arts Centre, Herbert Street, Pontardawe SA8 4ED

Previous winners

2013 Emily Hinshelwood – Buoy

2014 Shane Anderson – Hubert and Humble

2015 Dan Buck – Tosia Peters:  Servant to the Queen

2016 Christopher Land and Alex Gully – Slim Chance

2017 Michelle McTernan – Bruises

2018 Luke Horton – Children or Money

2019 Howard Betsworth – 1951 The Exhibition

Comment Wall

Add a Comment

RSVP for Script Slam to add comments!

Join National Theatre Wales Community

Attending (1)

image block identification

© 2024   Created by National Theatre Wales.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service