The Directors’ Forum:

The Six Senses of the Director

9 - 18 April 2010, Aberystwyth

Make your booking now


Animating, articulating and illuminating the director’s craft

"Being a director is not a solo occupation – so most of my life is spent in a room with artists who are a lot more interesting than I am”

Peter Sellars: Theatre and Opera Director

CPR has invited some of the most exciting and diverse Wales - based and international theatre directors to Aberystwyth for an intensive participatory project that offers a rare opportunity for both experienced and emerging directors to gather and share the methods, approaches and skills of professional directing practice via laboratories and presentations, demonstrations and dialogue.

Guest Directors Include:

Veenapani Chawla (Adishakti Centre, India), Das Beckwerk (Denmark), Jaroslaw Fret (Teatr ZAR, Poland), Richard Gregory (Quarantine, UK), Bill Hamblett (Small World Theatre, Wales), Natalie Hennedige (Cake Theatre, Singapore), Adrian Jackson (Cardboard Citizens, UK), Ruth Kanner (Ruth Kanner Theatre Group, Israel), Anuradha Kapur (National School of Drama, India), Julian Maynard Smith (Station House Opera, UK), John McGrath (National Theatre of Wales), Philip McKenzie (Sherman Theatre Cymru), Ong Keng Sen (TheatreWorks, Singapore), Anders Paulin (Sweden), Mike Pearson (Pearson/Brookes, Wales), Ralf Richardt Strøbech (Hotel Pro Forma/ Loop Group, Denmark), Tore Vagn Lid (Transiteatret-Bergen, Norway).

For further information or to make a booking please visit the CPR website or contact CPR.

Email: Phone: +44 (0) 1970 622 133 Web:

The Directors Forum has been made possible with the support of a project grant from the Arts Council of Wales.

The Centre for Performance Research at Aberystwyth is a joint venture of The University of Wales Aberystwyth and Centre for Performance Research Ltd, working in close association with UWA Department of Theatre, Film and Television Studies. Centre for Performance Research Ltd is an Educational Charity (No. 701544) limited by guarantee (Reg. No. 231 5790).

Photos in main image (from left to right, top to bottom): Anders Paulin Mefisto, Das Beckwerk Mission Iran, Julian Maynard Smith Mare's Nest, Das Beckwerk Mission Iran, Natalie Hennedige Nothing, Anders Paulin Gostaberling, Ralf Richardt Strobech Tomorrow, In a Year photographer C.Thyrrestup, Ruth Kanner Cases of Murder, Julian Maynard Smith Scenes from a New Jericho, Veenapani Chawla Brhannala, Ruth Kanner Cases of Murder, Richard Gregory Geneva photographer Simon Banham, Natalie Hennedige Queen Ping.

Views: 36

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of National Theatre Wales Community to add comments!

Join National Theatre Wales Community

image block identification

© 2019   Created by National Theatre Wales.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service