Two years ago I met Rachael Boulton who had started theatre company Motherlode. She immediately captivated me with her passion, positivity and political-leanings. Motherlode like telling important stories on stage and they wanted me to help them tell those stories. I was thrilled. A chance to work with yet another incredible woman in the arts! Hallelujah. I seem to be drawn to these women doing extraordinary things. A year later, the show #TheGoodEarth went on to sell out four nights in Chapter. Now, two years on, the show is on it’s very own tour of Wales.  

I don't know how I know, but my spidey senses kick in and I usually know when shows/projects I work on are going to be extraordinary. As a freelancer, I try my very best to go with my gut and only take on work I truly believe in and feel I’m the right fit.

The Good Earth is a Welsh story about a Valleys community pitted against big business and its own local authority. In 1973, the villagers of Troedrhiwgwair in Tredegar, Blaenau Gwent, were ordered to leave their homes amid fears of a landslide. However, the determined villagers defied the authorities, demanding proof of the danger with which they were threatened and sparking a battle that would be fought for a many years.

Since working on this show, I've spent many an hour shedding a tear in Chapter reading about Aberfan, about the flooding of the Elan Valley and similar stories of negligence and wrong-doing against Welsh communities.

The production toured to NYC in August (I am determined to go with them next time!) and is performed in English with a little Welsh, and incorporates folk songs, first recorded in New York in 1965 by Welsh-language activist Dr.Meredydd Evans.