A reflection of my time as assistant director for August012's Roberto Zucco

I mentioned before in my last blog that this was my first time ever working with a professional theatre company, so everything was new to me and I have very little to  compare the experience to. How I came by the job was partly through luck and partly through a friend who was on their promotions team. But for me and to friends I told it was crazy to think that I was already working on a professional production before I had even graduated university,  so for that I will be forever grateful to Sarah (the producer) and Mathilde (director) for giving me the opportunity to work with them.

The experience itself was not entirely unlike things I had experienced at on my course at university, but on a far larger scale, with a tighter time constrain. I was able to see the whole production come together in the short space of 5 weeks, which was completely different to any other production I had ever worked on; due to the fact that it was far more intensive. Through my experience as assistant director I was able to see all the different elements of the production come together throughout the process, and by turning up to production meetings whenever I could, I was given a much more rounded view of the whole rehearsal process. That being said, most of my time was spent in the rehearsal room watching Mathilde and the actors work; which was intense (as the best way to describe it), everyone was so creative and fearless that nothing was off limits and often things that started out as a joke would end up in the final show.