TEAM Panel & Creative Collaboration Project launch

Greetings all!

What a great start to 2018! I've had the honour of being accepted onto TEAM Panel and have just begun an exciting new endeavor for TEAM as creative assistant on the Creative Collaboration Project. More on that in a moment; firstly, I'd like to introduce myself.

I'm a musician, producer, sound engineer, film-maker and photographer from Pembrokeshire. I manage the Boatyard Music & Film studio, the arts division of the Tanyard Youth Project based in the heart of the county. We work with a 200+ community of young people (10-18) to provide music, film and photography projects and tutorials to our members. Although fortunate to live in one of the most beautiful places in Wales, we are also one of the most impoverished in terms of social mobility, public facilities and arts-based opportunities. As such, we take great pride in our role of involving young people in our many arts activities and projects, primarily based in the Tanyard building and our professional recording studio in Pembroke.

I first became involved with TEAM in 2017, as a photographer for the Sound Project alongside Diana Ford, a fellow member of TEAM Panel. This gave me an insight into NTW's interest in reaching out to communities, to offer a platform through the arts to tell their stories. Later that year, staff and young people from the Tanyard Youth Project were invited to attend "We're Still Here", an incredible immersive theatre production based in an old industrial warehouse in Port Talbot, telling the story of the local steelworkers in the fight to keep their jobs against the odds. As I learned more about both NTW and TEAM, I found the organisation to be socially progressive, environmentally conscious and packed with creative talent across the entire spectrum of the arts. Shortly after, I was invited to interview at NTW HQ in Cardiff for a place on TEAM panel.