Simon Coates

Male

Cardiff

United Kingdom

Profile Information:

What I do:
Artistic Director, Producer, Facilitator.
A little more about me:
Supporting artists to make/discover/present new pieces of performance for audiences in Wales.

Currently Director - Taliesin Arts Centre (Swansea)

Previously, I was Head of Creative Development at National Theatre Wales where i was responsible for artist development and new ideas. I oversaw WalesLab and an expanded programme of work for artists exploring new ideas through a Creative Development framework which included residencies (wales and internationally) commissions and other opportunities.

Before that i was at Wales Millennium Centre as an Associate Producer where I was responsible for the Incubator Project, the Centre's Creative Development project. Also programming in the Weston Studio and running a lot of the Centre's community projects.

My background is in devised theatre and choreographic practices; I trained at Dartington College of Arts and went on to produce a number of performances merging theatre, dance and various written and found texts (I should probably make it clear that I am definitely not a dancer, or writer!)
Projects I’m working on:
https://www.taliesinartscentre.co.uk/
Twitter @username:
@smn_coates

Comment Wall:

Load Previous Comments
  • Rowena Louise Bernice Scurlock

Hi what I want to do is to develop one of my one act plays. Its called 'Dimensions' and it only contains two people.

• Sarah Jane Leigh

Happy Second Day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! x

• Buddug James Jones

Nice choice of profile picture...

CROESO!

• Anne Langford

Hello Simon - I saw Franklyn's post and I've responded offering a phone call with some advice.  It would be really interesting for WalesLab to offer some support and guidance - maybe in tandem with ITC?  Would be great to chat about this.  Also, congrats on the new role - looking forward to working with you!

• Emma Angharad Baggott

Hi Simon,

Thankyou.